1. Select Colleges
  2. Select Sector
  3. Select Level
  4. Select Program

College of Engineering Studies (CoES)

Department of Aerospace Engineering

Department of Aerospace Engineering

Courses Offered

Undergraduate programmes

  • B.Tech Aerospace Engineering UG
  • B.Tech Avionics Engineering UG
  • B.Tech Aerospace Engineering with specialization in Avionics.

Postgraduate programmes

  • M.Tech Aerospace Engineering With Specialization In Unmanned Aerial Vehicles
  • M.Tech Computational Fluid Dynamics PG



  • Young Scientist’s Award, KORDI was awarded to Dr Sudhir Chaturvedi, Faculty, UPES



  • NASA System Engineering award (2012, USA)
  • National Olympiad (2010, Chandigarh)
  • 41st All India Student Design Competition (2011, The Institution of Engineers, India).
  • 42nd All India Student Design Competition (2012, The Institution of Engineers, India).
  • Paper presentation at Global Space Exploration Conference 2012, MIT, USA

Seminars / Events

  • Participation in Aerospace Day (Annual Departmental event),
  • Student participation in Aerokriti (Annual Summer Aero-modelling Workshop) at the end of first year.
  • Workshop on Aero-Modelling
  • Industrial Tour by Student and faculty at nearby Airport and Air Force Stations
  • One Week Industrial Tour during Second Year
  • Summer internship at the end of Third Year,
  • PSIP (Placement Selection Improvement Program) consisting of Mock interview at the end


Besides other academic facilities available for the department on Campus, following academic infrastructure is also available for enhancing conducive learning of the students:

  • Library: Fully Fully air-conditioned multi-floored centralized library building is with well-furnished with Reading Room and Reference books, Journal & Magazine and new furniture. Besides, Twenty Workstation for E database, OPAC ( Online Public Access Catalogue) access kiosk are also installed in the Library. In addition Photocopy and scanner facility is also available.
  • Central Library
  • Internet facilities for staff and students
  • Wi-fi Campus
  • Staff and students are provided with Laptop / Netbooks
  • Class rooms with ICT facility
  • Students laboratories
  • Research labs : Indian Air Force (MiG) and two Turbo Jet Engine

Research Areas

  • Computational Fluid Dynamics,
  • Aircraft Super-maneuverability,
  • Hydrogen powered fuel cell aircraft design.

Research Project: UPES Nano Satellite Project

Contributions of the department in generating new knowledge, basic or applied.


  • Application of CFD in newer areas
  • Development of Nano Satellite

All India collaboration : Students Design Project [Infotech Enterprises,Hyderabad]


  • faculty

    Dr. Velidi VSS Gurunadh

    B.Tech   Mechanical Engineering, Pondicherry University, Yanam 
    M.Tech Energy Systems Engineering, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Dehradun 
    Phd, Aerospace Engineering, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Dehradun
  • faculty

    Dr. Ugur Guven

    B.Sc in Aerospace Engg, Istanbul Technical University,

    M.Sc in Nuclear Science & Technology, Istanbul Technical University, 

    Ph.D in Aerospace Engg, Capitol University (USA)

  • faculty

    Dr. Om Prakash

    Post Doc, Aerospace Engineering, IIT Kanpur, 2007

    Ph.D Aerospace Engineering , IIT Bombay, 2006

    M.Tech (Flight Mechanics), Aerospace Engineering, IIT Kanpur,2001

    B.Engg., Aeronautical Engineering, PEC University of  Technology (formerly PEC), Chandigarh 

  • faculty

    Sudhir Joshi

    B.E - Aeronautical Engineering, The Aeronautical Society of India, New Delhi

    ME -Space Engineering and Rocketry (Specialization – Aerodynamics) , Birla Institute of Technology , Mesra, Ranchi.

    Ph.D  (Pursuing) in Aerospace Engineering from University of Petroleum and Energy Studies,  Dehradun.

  • faculty

    Vijay Kumar Patidar

    B.E in Aeronautical Engineering, Aeronautical Society of India, New Delhi.

    M.Tech in Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Engineering Madras. 

    Ph.D (Pursuing) in Aerospace Engineering from University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Dehradun.


  • faculty

    A. J. Arun Jeya Prakash

    B.E in Electronics & Instrumentation from E.V.P Engineering College,  Anna University, Tamil Nadu

    M.E in Avionics from Madras Institute of Technology,   Anna University, Tamil Nadu

    PhD in Aerospace- Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (Pursuing) from UPES, Dehradun

  • faculty

    M. Raja

    B. E (Electrical and Electronics Engineering), Panimalar Engineering College, Chennai, India.

    M. E (Avionics Engineering) Madras Institute of Technology, Chrompet, Chennai, India.

    Ph.D (Pursuing) Aerospace Engineering, University of Petroleum & Energy Studies, Dehradun, Uttarakhand

  • faculty

    Dr. Rajesh Yadav


    B.E. in Aeronautical Engg, The Aeronautical Society of India, 


    Ph.D in Aerospace Engg, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Dehradun

  • faculty

    Sudhir Kumar Chaturvedi

    B.E: Aeronautical Engineering, AMAeSI, New Delhi, India
    MS (by Research): RADAR Technology, IIT Madras, Chennai, India
    Ph.D (Pursuing): Aerospace Engineering, UPES, Dehradun, India


  • faculty

    Aslesha Bodavula

    B.Tech, Jyothishmathi College of Engineering & Technology, JNTU-Hyderabad.

    M.Tech, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies (UPES)




  • faculty

    Zozimus Dinesh Labana

    Bachelor’s Degree in Aeronautical Engineering, The Aeronautical Society of India, New Delhi.

    Master of Science (MSc) in Aerospace Engineering, The University of Manchester, Manchester, U.K.

    Ph.D. (Pursuing) in Aerospace Engineering, UPES, Dehradun.

  • faculty

    Lalit Bhola

    B.Tech Mechanical Engineering, Lovely Professional University, Phagwara, Punjab.

    M.Tech Aerospace Structures, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay.
  • faculty

    Vindhya Devalla

    B.Tech Electronics and Instrumentation, JNTU, Hyderabad

    M.Tech Robotics Engineering, UPES