Held on
30th May 2008

30th May 2008 was a day of great excitement at UPES; the students were thrilled at the prospect of receiving their degrees from Dr. E. Sreedharan, the man who has single-handedly spearheaded a revolution in the Indian multi-modal mass transport systems.

A man of few words, Dr. Sreedharan, in his convocation address, complimented UPES for its pioneering efforts in grooming competent and well-trained professionals for the Energy and Allied sectors. He shared his “Secrets of Success” with the students – punctuality, professional competence, and integrity. In addition, he also urged students to continually remember their societal obligations and the contribution of their alma mater in shaping their lives.

Two doctorates were awarded during the convocation to Mr. Ashish Bharadwaj and Mr. Mohammad Washid for their studies on “Business Transformation through IT” and "Strategic Investment Decision in Petrochemical Sector: A Comparative Study of GCC Countries”, respectively.

The highlight of the occasion was the Endowment of Rs. 85.12 lakhs to the University on behalf of the ONGC Schlumberger Wireline Research Centre – JRC. The cheque was handed over to Dr. S. J. Chopra, Chancellor, UPES by Mr. S. V. Rao, Executive Director (Exploration & Production Unit). The endowment was the result of the announcement made by Shri R. S. Sharma, CMD ONGC, Guest of Honour at the third Convocation.


Top Honours were Awarded to the following Students:

Name of Student Award Recruited by
Harneet Kaur Sahni
MS (Oil Trading)
"University Gold Medal"
Best PG Student, CoMES
Swsatisudha Samantaray
M.Tech (Petro Informatics)
"University Gold Medal"
Best PG Student, CoES
Arpita Garg
BBA (Petro Marketing)
“University Gold Medal”
Best UG Student, CoMES
Pursuing Higher Studies in India
Sanjay Surya Yerramilli
B.Tech (Gas Engineering)
“University Gold Medal”
Best UG Student, CoES
Pursuing Higher Studies in India
S. Venkataraman
MBA (Oil & Gas)
“Narayan Sahai Memorial Gold Medal”
Overall Performance MBA (Oil & Gas)
Kaushik J. “I N Mehta Memorial Gold Medal” by Mrs. Prabha Narang
Overall Performance M.Tech
Punj Lloyd
Stuti Singh “Subodh Kumar Jain Gold Medal”
Best Corporate Student

For the complete article on the Fourth Convocation of UPES.

Click here to Download


Subscribe to our newsletter

Chat with us

Request a Call Back