Held on
31st May 2011
  • Place At

    Energy Acres, Bidholi, Dehradun

  • Distinguished Guest of Honour of National Eminence:

    Hon'ble Shri S. Jaipal Reddy, Union Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas, Government of India

  • Chief Guest:

    Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Chief Minister, State of Uttarakhand

  • Degrees Awarded:

    MBA , M.Tech, BBA & B.Tech Courses offered by UPES

  • Students Awarded:

    980 Postgraduates

  • Doctorates Awarded:


  • Honoris Causa Awarded:



31st May, 2011 witnessed the stately ceremony of the 8th Convocation of UPES in Dehradun. The atmosphere at the UPES Campus was upbeat and pulsating with energy as Hon'ble Shri S. Jaipal Reddy and Hon'ble Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, graced the occasion with their presence. Expressing pleasure to be present at the Convocation, Shri Jaipal Reddy, in his address said, "This University is playing a critical role in the country's economic development by providing industry-ready professionals for the country's booming energy sector". He added, "To keep pace with the demands of a dynamic business environment, the University has joined hands with the global IT giant, IBM. Such academia-industry collaboration augurs well for the advancement of technical education in the country". He also said that UPES over the years has evolved into an institution of repute, boldly rising to meet the challenge of providing skilled human resources for the country's rapidly expanding energy sector.

Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, in his address stated, "I am impressed with the rapid growth UPES has undergone in a very short span of time. The challenge for the students studying in this unique University would be to imbibe and be different in their skills from students of other regular Universities". He also added, "There is a lot which is disintegrating in the world today and the challenge is to assimilate and build on it for the future". The highlights of the ceremony were the award of three Doctorates to working professionals from the industry and one Honoris Causa (Honorary Doctorate) ) in Project Management on Mr. K. Venkataramanan, Whole Time Director and President (Engineering & Construction Projects), Larsen & Toubro, Mumbai for his outstanding contribution in Project Management, Product Engineering, and Research & Development.

Three Doctorates were awarded to working professionals and faculty of UPES. The awardees were:

  • Shri Aayushman Gupta, Business Director for India, EU (A Study On The Market, Consumer Orientation Of Fuelling Statons:Case Study On IGL).
  • Shri Ankur Mittal, Assistant Professor, UPES (Comparative Analysis of Sectoral Mutual fund schemes with reference to Uttarakhand).
  • Shri Raj Kishor Tripathi, Assitant Professor, UPES (Modification and Evaluation of fuel injection system for IDI Diesel Engine Fueled with Jatropha Straight Vegetable Oil (JSVO).

Top Honours were Awarded to the following Students:

Name of Student Award
Vishal Goyal
University Gold Medal
PG Student, CoMES
Ajith Kayapurathu Chandy 
University Gold Medal
Best PG Student, CoES
Paridhi Gupta
 “University Gold Medal”  
Best UG Student, CoMES 
Sagun Devshali  
B.Tech (APE)
"Siddho Mal & Sons Medal” 
Best Corporate Student
Binny Sharma "Shri. Narayan Sahai Memorial Gold Medal” 
Elamathi Raja J 
M.Tech (ES)
"Mrs. Prabha Narang Gold Medal"
Overall performance in M.Tech Programs
Isha Khambra
B.Tech APE 3rd Year
"Cairn Laureate Scholarship"” 
Overall performance in M.Tech Programs
Preeti Goyal 
B.Tech APE 3rd Year
"Cairn Laureate Scholarship" 
Overall performance in M.Tech Programs

For the complete article on the Eighth Convocation of UPES.