Event Department

Hackathon 2

Hackathon 2.0

  • The most-awaited coding event of UPES, ‘UHackathon 2.0’ took place on February 28 and 29, 2020, in Bidholi Campus, Dehradun. According to the event convener, Chandra Mani Sharma, and co-conveners Sugandha Sharma and Dr Shweta Mongia from UPES School of Computer Science, the event registered participation of more than 50 teams from 11 states of the country. Winners received prizes worth INR 1 lakh. Three outstanding teams from the hackathon were chosen for direct participation in IEEE International Hackathon YESIST, to be held in Malaysia in 2020. Some of the participants also got the opportunity for internships from CppSecrets.com and Amptech Software.   
  • The event was inaugurated in the presence of Dr. MSM Rawat, Advisor to Uttarakhand Government, Ministry of Minister of Higher Education; Mr. Avelo Roy, Managing Director, Kolkata Ventures; Dr. Veena Dutta, Registrar UPES; Dr. Manish Prateek, Dean, School of Computer Science; Dr. T.P. Singh, HOD- Informatics; and other eminent guests from the industry.
  • The inaugural ceremony started with lamp-lighting by the guests and the dignitaries, followed by Saraswati Vandana. The Chair of the event Prof. (Dr.) T.P. Singh gave the welcome address. Dr. Veena Dutta enlightened the participants and the guests about the achievements of UPES. Chief Guest, Prof. (Dr.) MSM Rawat, motivated the participants to excel in their field. Eminent Guest, Mr. Avelo Roy, an eminent start-up mentor, addressed the students to inculcate humanitarian values and excel as Technopreneurs.
  • Mr. Roy also gave an expert talk on ‘Technical Entrepreneurship and Incubation’ to young and energetic future start-up enthusiasts.
  • The Hackathon was declared open at 12 noon. The first evaluation of teams was done at 3 pm on the same day, second evaluation took place at 11 pm and the third evaluation started from 10 am on the second day. Out of 53 teams, only the best ones could make it to top 12 teams.
  • Team ‘The Hack Squad’ T296 from SIB Institute, Karnataka, won the 1st position by creating a 3D model to create an extended version of virtual reality and give realistic feedback to the user, winning money prize of Rs.30,000, trophy and medals, among other goodies.
  • The second position was bagged by team T380 from UPES, Dehradun, for the Smart Helmet idea, winning a cash prize of Rs.20,000.
  • The third position went to team T395 from Silicon Institute of Odisha, winning a cash reward worth Rs.10,000.
  • Several other teams won prizes by Xebia under various categories, criteria, such as the most innovative idea, most agile team, most hardworking team and most promising team.
  • Best Innovative Idea Award- T171- Overlocked Brains- SVIT Gujarat
  • Agile Team Award- T113- Chitkara University, Punjab
  • Most Hardworking Team Award- T257- Tech Squad- UPES
  • Most Promising Team Award- T80- Annihilators- Banasthali Vidhyapeeth, Rajasthan
  • Out of the top 12 teams, three teams won direct entry into IEEE YESIST Hackathon Final Round to be held in Malaysia. The three teams included one from UPES which implemented the idea of Smart Helmet, an IoT-based helmet that would help in prevention of road accidents, the second team from Silicon Institute of Odisha presented a driver alert system using sensors and image processing, while the team from Chitkara University presented an iOS/Android app to deal with disaster management.
  • Besides the above prizes, Best Institute, Dehradun Campus Ambassador Award went to Manjot Singh from Alpine.
  • The Best Student Volunteer award went to Harshit Gupta of B. Tech CSE Big Data Specialization 6th Semester, UPES.
  • The Expert Jury of UHackathon 2.0 consisted of Mr. Avelo Roy; Mr. Manjit Singh and Mr. N Krishnan from IBM; Mr. Laurence Djengo and Mr. Saurabh Sodhi from Xebia; Mr. Saroj Kumar from ESIC; and Mr. Ramneek, Regional Head, IEEE YESIST.
  • Faculty of School of Computer Science – Bhavna Kaushik, Dr. Anjali Gautam, Ninni Singh, Shubhi Sharma, Richa Choudhury, Dr. Hitesh Kumar Sharma, Dr. Hukam Singh Rana, Mr. Deepak Kumar Sharma, Mr. Abhijit Kumar, Rahul Singh, Anupam Singh, Amarendra Nath Tripathi, Amar Shukla, Amit Singh, Pankaj Badoni and Sandeep Singh – were part of the organising committee.
  • The judges shared some tips and tricks with the students to be used in challenges like Hackathon. Mr. Himanshu from Radon congratulated the winners.

Student Volunteers

Student Convener and Student Co-Convener -Harshit Gupta and Nishtha Grover

PR Team

  • Kumar Harsh, Bhavanshu Arora, Tanu Rai, Akshay Sinha, Mayank Maloo, Rakshit, Nishant Belwal, Ishika, Yash Mohan Garg, Arjun, Sarthak, Divya, Nitish, Anamika, Ritik, Keshav Garg, Garvit Pant

Logistics Team

  • Anirudh Singh Senger, Dhananjay Notnani, Urvee Kumar, Sudhir Yadav, Prabhjot, Aman Bhatiya

Editorial Team

  • Ayush Mishra, Palak Bajaj, Nikita Juneja, Shashwat Kumar, Nikki Saraswat, Prakhar Thapliyal

Technical Team

  • Akash Nishad, Nitesh Gurbani, Ishan, Ankur, Arpit, Rajneesh

3D modelling and design

  • Khushi Saraswat, Tejal Kalgutkar, Kshitij Lalingkar, Siddharth Menon, Jai Khopey, Ayush Srivastav, Krishna Manasa Bhogi, Sai Karthik, Raghav Kirloskar, Andrew, Arudhra Mugil

Design Team

  • Satyajeet Patel, Rohan Suresh


  • Radon, Creatappa, AzureSkyNet, Coding Blocks, JoyFul Travels, PEPcoding, ArtisanCrafts.

Academic Collaborators

  • Mark Exhausts, Women Institute of Technology, Perennial Systems, AISecureMe, Licably, Special Operations Group (Uttarakhand), Cardiff University, Blue Crest College, FirstJob, AKOnline, RoledIn, PrimeTrade, Govind Vallab Pant Institute, InfoCareer, Minerva Global Capital, Capios, Amptech.


  • STPI, Xebia, IBM, International Association of Professional and Fellow Engineers, International Accreditation Council for Conference and Professional Excellence, Indo-UK Confederation of Science, Technology & Research Ltd, Indian Engineer Teacher Association, ThinkBig Data Community.
Facebook Twitter Linkedin Instagram YouTube
Chat with Student Buddy