Event Department

Activities at UPES

Break In: Nitro RC Championship at UPES


The inaugural Nitro RC Championship was conducted on the 23rd and 24th of January on the sports ground of Bidholi campus of UPES, Dehradun. The event was organised by the Mechanical Department of School of Engineering UPES and featured a designing and performance competition for 1/8 scale RC Nitro Cars. The event featured a dozen teams from different colleges of India and UPES competing over the course of multiple rounds. 

The teams were provided a window of opportunity for practise from 8 am to 11 am following which the teams proceeded into the Time trials round wherein all the participants were allowed three laps around the track with their best lap timing being noted down to create a rank order. Team MRC from Mumbai were the pole leaders with a time of roughly 43 seconds as the best lap time. Ensuring that the leader for Time trials directly Qualified to the Super Six Round.

The remaining teams battled it out in the Knockout Round based on their ranks with rank number two, competing with the last ranking team and similarly for all the teams in a one vs one three lap race that saw the winners qualify for the next round. The super six round featured the Time trials leader followed by the best performers from the Knockout Rounds and was a two-race competition to determine the three finalists.

The finale saw a simultaneous race between all the four teams for the course of three laps with additional penalty for exceeding the track boundaries and/or skipping the obstacles. At the close, between all the finalists the results boiled down to the difference of just two seconds between the first placed team and the first runner-up.

The winners of the event in order of their cumulative time (including their lap timings and fouls were)

  1. Team MRC-O         MRC Club                  Mumbai
  2. Team Ryu-u           UPES                          Dehradun
  3. Team RC                Anna University          Chennai